Skip to main content

The MGA Lecturer of the Year Award was created to recognise and celebrate excellence in graduate teaching. The award was initiated by the MGA more than a decade ago in response to numerous requests from graduate coursework students who wanted the chance to acknowledge the teachers who had been a major inspiration throughout their time at Monash.

The MGA award is truly a decision of the graduate community. Lecturers are nominated by their graduate students and entries are judged by an independent subcommittee of graduates drawn from the MGA Executive Committee. The award criteria was determined from student feedback about outstanding lecturers they encountered in a cross-section of courses and departments.

We announce the winner at an exclusive MGA award ceremony each year.

Nominations open for 2024

We are excited to announce the search is on for the 2024 MGA Lecturer of the Year.

Do you have a lecturer who captivates, inspires, and ignites your interest in learning? Someone who goes above and beyond to encourage student growth and success?

Join us in recognising their invaluable contribution to education by nominating them for this award.

It’s a great way to say thank you.

Nominations open: 9:00am on Wednesday, 6 March 2024

Nominations close: 5:00pm on Wednesday, 23 October 2024


MGA Lecturer of the Year Hall of Fame

Associate Professor Annemarie Lee
School of Primary and Allied Health Care
Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Dr Damien Lyons
School of Curriculum Teaching & Inclusive Education
Faculty of Education

Dr Paul Kalfadellis
Department of Management
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Jagjit Plahe
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Erin Leif
Faculty of Education

Dr Susie Ho
Faculty of Science

Kimble Montagu
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Michael Phillips
Faculty of Education

Dr Susan Lee
Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Jonathan Teoh
Taxation Law, Faculty of Business & Economics

Ms Dana Rowan,
Journalism and Australian Studies, Faculty of Arts

Dr Wendy Stubbs
Geography and Environmental Science, Faculty of Arts

Professor Jonathon Clough (runner-up)
Faculty of Law

The MGA team

Got a question or request about anything at all? Get in contact with one of our staff members – we’d love to hear from you. Alternatively, drop by the MGA office at Clayton or Caulfield so we can help!

Meet your current elected representatives

Curious to know who’s representing you at the moment? Get to know your elected representatives, what they do and how you can get involved.

Work for the MGA

The MGA employs Monash graduate students to fill the receptionist roles at the Clayton and Caulfield offices. When a vacancy arises we advertise the position through our email newsletter and on our website.

The Monash Graduate Association (MGA) is the representative body for all graduate research and coursework students enrolled at Monash University. So, what sets us apart from the University services? The MGA is an independent, not-for-profit association governed by graduate students, for graduate students. Our primary aim is to be there for you! If you can’t find what you are looking for, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.

Get in touch with us
What are you looking for?
Acknowledgement of Country

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land on which our four Australian campuses stand and their continuing connection to the land on which we live and work. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.