

Special Meeting

A meeting of the Monash Graduate Association (MGA) Executive Committee

was held from 3:00~pm-4:00pm, Thursday, 29 January 2025, in the MGA Meeting Room, Caulfield Campus and by Zoom

MINUTES

The meeting commenced at 3:05 pm.

1. Formal matters

1.1 Election of Session Chair

The Executive Office received an email from the Vice President Calvin Chow expressing his apologies for being unable to attend and chair the meeting. Per section 20.5 of the MGA Constitution, the MGAEC undertook a vote to determine a new chair for the meeting.

Saham Hettiarachchi was elected as chair of the meeting by simple majority.

1.1 Acknowledgement of country

The Chair acknowledged and paid respect to the people of the Kulin nations as the original and ongoing owners and custodians of this unceded land.

1.2 Attendance & Apologies

Present: Saham Hettiarachchi, Vu Hiep Dang (Oliver), Mohammed Salehan

(Zeehan), Dhanya Menoth Mohan, Ummatul Siddique, Yiwen Yuan, Aakash Saraf (joined 3:18pm), Kritika Arora, Yidi Luan, Tuhar Yeasmin, Beauty Nalwendo, Karan Raman, Jeremy Salcedo.

Apologies: Calvin Chow and Neharika Shah.

In attendance: Janice Boey, Executive Officer

Ying Xu, Advocacy Manager Leilani Hatfield, Events Manager Ryan Edwards, Research Manager

2. Membership matters

2.1 Election for President

It was announced that the elections for the role of President would commence. The Executive Officer acted as the Returning Officer and was assisted by staff member Ryan Edwards.

The Chair called for nominations for the position of President.

• Yiwen Yuan nominated herself, and was seconded by Saham Hettiarachchi.

There were no other nominations. Yiwen Yuan was declared elected to the President's position.

As Yiwen Yuan cannot hold two positions, Yiwen stepped down from the Women's Officer role. (Section 5.10 of the MGA General Regulations)

2.2 Elections for vacant office-bearer (OB) roles

The Executive Officer then opened nominations for the vacant OB positions on the MGAEC.

Women's Officer

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Women's Officer.

• Yidi Luan nominated herself, seconded by Ummatul Siddique.

There were no other nominations. Yidi was declared elected to the Women's Officer position.

Queer Officer

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Queer Officer.

• Jeremy Salcedo nominated themselves, seconded by Ummatul Siddique.

There were no other nominations. Jeremy was declared elected to the Queer Officer position.

Indigenous Students' Officer

The Chair called for nominations for the position of Indigenous Students' Officer.

There were no eligible nominees.

The MGAEC elections were declared closed and elected members congratulated.

3. Next meeting

The next meeting will be held in February 2025 at a time and place to be confirmed by members' availability.

The meeting closed at 3:23 pm.