Lecturer of the Year (LOTY) Award

The Lecturer of the Year (LOTY) award was created to recognise and celebrate excellence in graduate teaching.

The MGA Lecturer of the Year award was created to recognise and celebrate excellence in graduate teaching. It was a new initiative in 2012 in response to numerous requests from graduate coursework students who wanted the chance to acknowledge the teachers who had been a major inspiration throughout their time at Monash.

The MGA award is truly a decision of the graduate community. Lecturers are nominated by their graduate students and entries are judged by an independent subcommittee of graduates drawn from the MGA Executive Committee. The award criteria were determined from student feedback about outstanding lecturers they encountered in a cross-section of courses and departments.

There are two rounds of nominations each year – one for each semester. The winner will be announced at an exclusive award ceremony the following year.

Nominations open for 2022

Do you have a lecturer who doesn’t make you want to take a nap? Who, in fact, makes you sit up and listen – even on Zoom?! They blow your mind with the ideas they impart in every lecture, they are kind and supportive, and they motivate you to work harder.

If you have a lecturer like this, show your appreciation and nominate them for the 2022 MGA Lecturer of the Year award! It’s a great way to say thank you.

*Please note that nominations closed at 5:00pm on Friday, 21 October 2022*

MGA Lecturer of the Year Hall of Fame

Dr Paul Kalfadellis
Department of Management
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Jagjit Plahe
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Erin Leif
Faculty of Education

Dr Susie Ho
Faculty of Science

Kimble Montagu
Faculty of Business & Economics

Dr Michael Phillips
Faculty of Education

Dr Susan Lee
Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Jonathan Teoh
Taxation Law, Faculty of Business & Economics

Ms Dana Rowan,
Journalism and Australian Studies, Faculty of Arts

Dr Wendy Stubbs
Geography and Environmental Science, Faculty of Arts

Professor Jonathon Clough (runner-up)
Faculty of Law